Tags

, , ,

So, its been a little over three months. But here is where I am at with the weight loss and breastfeeding stuff.

Oliver has been exclusivly breast fed for the past three months. Although to be honest, we have had a few times where we had to supplement with formula but that was only because I was at work and Dad ran out of breast milk. It happens and I think he has only had like 4 ozs total of formula. I’m getting better at keeping up with his demand which was pretty difficult for me when I returned to work. Luckily things are getting better with that. He has also been nursing like a dream. He has a great latch, and it only takes like 20mins to nurse him on both sides. Its great.

I think the one thing that I have struggled with these past few months is not being with him. There are so many changes that he is going through right now and I’m not always there to see them. He rolled over from tummy to back for the first time for Dad and I was so upset that I had to take a moment out of my work day to calm my self down all because I missed it. Then when I pick him up from day care and we finally get home sometime after 6pm he usually eats and then sleeps until 5:30-6 in the morning, when its time for me to get up and get ready for work. I”m trying to get a ton of Ollie time in during the weekend but that doesn’t really seem to be enough. Hopefully I can juggle my schedule around a little so that I am able to spend a little more time with him durig the day instead of while he’s sleeping.

For those of you who may not know, I only gained 10lbs while I was pregnant. It was a lot of work to keep my weight down but since I was already kind of overweight before I got pregnant I didn’t want to gain to much weight and have problems with my pregnancy. I kept my weight down because I spent a lot of time walking around. Going  up and down the stairs at my office and walking around the block when it wasn’t too hot out or I wasn’t to tired. I also watched my portion sizes and my intake of sweets. Now that I’m not pregnant anymore I have been doing pretty well on the food front. I still have days where all I want to do is eat and eat and eat and I do let myself indulge at times because I know that its important for me to keep my calories up while I’m breastfeeding. So I still eat quite a bit, but i try and make sure that the food I’m eating is healthy. We’ve been trying to change our diets over to a real foods diet. We’re still trying to figure out how that works into a budget and for the most part we’re doing ok. Our weekly shopping budget is $60 and we’ve been spending about $80 a week on food, so we’re not doing too bad.

Anyway — right now I have lost a total of 25 lbs since giving birth to Oliver. Which is awesome! I haven’t really been doing much other than watching what I eat, and breast feeding which can use up quite a bit of calories.

Anyway, I’m pretty happy with everything thats going on right now in my life. Only a few more changes to take place before everything is perfect.

Sorry, the pic isn’t the greatest, but its recent! I”ll have to get good ones taken soon.

