Tags

, , , , ,

This past weekend we had a nice relaxing weekend. I think Ollie and I spent the better half of Saturday lounging around playing and spending some much needed time together. It was perfect. On Sunday, Dad was home with us all day so we had a great family day. Even more perfect than our lazy Saturday.

Thomas spent the better part of the day preparing our food for the week. This week we’re eating Spinach Pie, Veggie Burritos, Home Made Bread, Home Made Tortillas, Home Made Pizza, a Quinoa Salad thing, and Baby Food for Ollie. I got to clean up the mess. OH and I made Apple Pie (which is delicious if I do say so myself!)

Oliver and I also worked on a craft. Its something that I intend to do with all of my children, its not much work, and it didn’t cost anything because I had all of the supplies on hand already.

Foot Print Plaque
Supplies:
Shoe Box Top
Paper to wrap around the top (I used a paper bag)
Paint and paint brush
Tape

 Image

First I had to decide on what color I wanted Ollies feet to be. I wanted to do orange because I like orange, But it didn’t look so good on the paper. So instead we ended up with black. No big deal.

 Image

After I picked my color I wrapped the shoe box lid in my paper. When we were doing the project though, it became evident that its easier to paint his foot and to have him step on the paper to get a good print so you might want to wait to wrap your lid until you are finished. Just make sure that you put the prints far enough away from the edge so that you can still wrap your lid.

 Image

TADA! pretty wrapped shoe box lid 🙂

Image

Then you want to get your paint ready. I didn’t have orange so I mixed yellow and red. But I ended up using black instead so…. Just picture the orange paint as black…. LOL

Image

He’s so cute!! My plan was to get his foot prints while he was asleep in the swing. But he woke up when we put the towel under his feet. (We put the towel there so that we wouldn’t get any paint on the swing cover, but it was still washable paint)

 Image

Then, you paint the baby foot. He kept wiggling his toes while I was doing this. I’m assuming that that was because it tickled. I also learned that you don’t want to put a lot of paint on his foot because that doesn’t result in a very pretty print either.

Image

This is when we switched to the black paint.

Image Image

 Image

I apologize for not getting pictures of the process of getting his foot prints. But we tried brining the paper to his foot and pressing the paper to his foot.. But that usually resulted in major smearing. Finally I sat him on my lap, painted his foot, and then had him step on the paper while it was on the floor. Which resulted in our final product.

 Image

All Done!! I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I wish that I had better penmanship but it still looks good. I’m going to put it on his wall.

