Tags

, , , ,

Well,  we did it…

We made things official and got married. It wasn’t anything huge or elaborate and most definitely not expensive! We didn’t even exchange rings. But it happened. And we couldn’t be happier!

Image

If you don’t already know, my husband and I have been dating for 5 years (as of November 2, which is also our wedding date FYI). We started dating in college, we met at a meeting for a community service fraternity that I was an active member of at that time and that he was thinking about pledging. Which, he did.

Image

We went to a conference a few weeks before Halloween and that was probably when I decided that I wanted to go on a date with him, several in fact… And so begins the unending flirting! It wasn’t until just before Halloween of 2007 that he FINALLY asked me out. We went to a party that one of his friends was having… I was bored — I should probably say that the boredom had nothing to do with him. We just run in different friend circles, his friends like games and silly shows and my friends well…. didn’t? Anyway, they played Super Smash Brothers-Brawl, and we watched the Halloween episode of South Park (Manbearpig anyone??) and I think we also ended up watching Sarah Silverman. I felt slightly out of place but my husband made me feel at ease when he did things, like held my hand (BIG grin!!) It made the night completely worth it. We ended the night with him bobbing for apples… At the time we lived in Michigan, and it was very cold out… as in, it was not the best idea for him to be sticking is head in a bucket of water just before we went outside in the cold. Anyway, after he ‘bobbed’ he put his arms around me like we had been together forever… That’s when I knew I was in this for the long haul!

Image

A few nights after that we went to a football game… I’m not a big sports fan, but he took me out for dinner at Qudoba, which is almost my favorite (it was at the time). We then stopped at a store so he could get some beer and headed to the game. It was November 1, in Michigan… And it was COLD. I’m a girl so of course I didn’t have a proper winter coat (you would think that growing up in Michigan I would know better than to dress for style instead of warmth) We left around half time and my now husband came over.  We spent the entire evening talking. We learned a lot about eachother that night and although we were sleep deprived the next morning, we decided to make things official. Oh yea, we were boyfriend and girlfriend and everyone knew it because it was on facebook! (yea, I went there!)

Image

Anyway, we were ‘officially’ engaged in September of 2009 and we had planned to have a wedding that next June. It didn’t happen due to financial reasons. So we planned again, for the following July, that didn’t happen either because of financial reasons, again. So, we planned again for August 25 of 2012, but that didn’t happen because we made a big move to Texas, we started new jobs and had a baby. It was just to stressful to try and plan a wedding and a trip back to Michigan with a new baby so soon after giving birth. So, we figured that next year would be better. Well, we got sick of waiting, and went to the Justice of the Peace on November 2 and at 5pm we were married. I can’t imagine spending the rest of my life with anyone else.

Image

Now, I can’t lie, I am a little bummed that I never got to do the big wedding/make a huge deal out of it thing just because I can. BUT we do plan to go back to Michigan in 2013 and we do plan to have a ring exchange and celebration so that we can celebrate this big moment with our friends and family up there. I am very grateful that my Uncle and his Wife were able to share in this amazing moment in our lives. It was nice to have them there for their support and encouragement. They also knew that this was important for us as well.

Image

Thomas still did a few things to make our night as special as possible. We went to the courthouse (we were late of course, but what do you expect when you have me and a baby…) We met my aunt and uncle there and went into the court room. The judge did his thing (we really liked him) and we got a few pictures.
I just love this one of our little best man.

Image

After the Ceremony, my Aunt and Uncle took us out to dinner at Kona Grill. It was AWESOME! I had this perfect Salmon and Thomas had a Seabass that tasted like butter! My aunt and Uncle had a Seabass and sushi. OH and I tried Calamari for the first time, it was pretty good actually. I wasn’t quite brave enough to try eating the ones that still had the legs attached… Creepy… My Aunt and Uncle also got us a small cake. I’m really bummed because I didn’t get a picture of this one. But it had white frosting and a white cake and my Aunt even put a beautiful Lily on top.

Once we got home Thomas surprised me with MORE cake. He got this one from Whole Foods, it was called Chocolate Eruption. The frosting was a bit much for me but it was still yummy non the less. We also have a really pretty wedding cake topper, the ‘Just Married’ sign on our wall, pretty china that Thomas’ mom sent us and a wonderful bottle of champagne. We didn’t drink the champagne that night, we finished the wine from the restaurant (which was delicious). We ended up buying Orange juice and having mimosas for Sunday mornings breakfast. On Saturday Thomas made breakfast too. Home made whipped cream, with fruit and french toast (if you know me, you know I love breakfast food).

All in all, it was perfect for us. I am so grateful and happy with the decision that I made to marry this wonderful man that I wouldn’t have life any other way. We’ve come a long way in our relationship and I am so excited to continue this long journey with this amazing man.

Image

