A lot of my friends on Facebook are doing the ’30 days of Thanksgiving’ thing. I like the idea of listing the things that you are thankful for, I find it refreshing for a change for people to say what they are thankful for as opposed to listing the things that they want or whats going wrong in their lives. So, in honor of Thanksgiving, I want to ‘follow the trend’ that’s been going on on Facebook. But instead of doing mine on Facebook, I’m gonna do mine on here, in a blog post. Without much further ado, here they are, in no particular order.

30 Days of Thanks

-My loving and wonderful husband, whom I couldn’t imagine being without. I’m so happy to say that I married my best friend and that we have been together as long as we have. He’s been there for me for everything. I couldn’t have done it without him.

– My adorable baby boy! He seriously lights up my world. I’m not sure what I would be doing with my life right now if I didn’t have him in it. I just love him ever so much.

-My mom, she’s always been my number 1 cheerleader. She went to every dance recital and managed to raise my brother and I on her own. I’m still not entirely sure how she did it but she made things happen. And I will forever be grateful for her.

-My Brother. Not only am I thankful for him. I’m also in awe of the man that he is becoming. I continue to be impressed with the accomplishments that he makes in his college career and I wish nothing but the best. We’ve been through a lot together and although he can really irritate me, I still love him to death.

-My Job. I’m so thankful to have a job with benefits. I’m very thankful that they hired me on while I was pregnant. Not many people get an opportunity like that and seeing that I got a job so close to graduating from college that has benefits is amazing.

-My health. I’m happy that I’m healthy enough to go to work and do the things that I do day in and day out.

– My Texas Family. We moved down here in February and we didn’t know too many people. We still don’t know many people but we are building relationships with the people that we do know. We have been fortunate enough to meet some amazing people down here that have been there for us when we need some grown ups to chat with.

– My Michigan Family. Although I haven’t seen most of them since we left, I’m thankful for the support that they have provided from afar. I know that I can call any of them any time and they will be there to lend me an ear. I would do the same for them.

-My apartment. After living with family for the past year, its great to be able to have a place to ourselves. A place to call home.

– My Sewing machine, although I don’t use it nearly enough, I love my sewing machine. When I have found time time to sew, I enjoy sitting there in my own little world for a bit creating something wonderful.

– Being passionate. I’m a social worker, that’s my day job. And I’m very passionate about what I do. I think that what I do is something that really does help the area that I live in. I’m passionate about a lot of things and I hope I never lose that about myself. I also hope to pass this feature on to my children.

– My education, I spent 4 and a half years in College. I met some amazing people while I was there. And I graduated with a bachelors degree in Social Work. I know that I will never be rich, but I also know that with my education I’ll be able to change the lives of many people and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

– Good Food, I love having a husband who will cook anything for me. Tonight we’re having Salmon and I’m so excited because its my favorite fish. All I have to do is ask, and he will do something to make it the best thing that I have eaten–ever!

– Being able to breastfeed. I’ve been breastfeeding for just shy of 6 months now and I’m so glad that I have been able to do this. It was a struggle at first, but its so worth it to see this little man benefiting from the milk that I’m able to produce for him.

– Blankets. I know this is kind of weird. I love being warm. Its best when its a little chilly in the room and you get to wrap yourself up in a nice warm blanket. Not everyone has a blanket to cover up in and I think its important for us to remember even the smallest amenity that we have that another might not.

– Flexible work Schedule. I have a great job that lets me basically make my own work schedule. I try and get in as early as I can, I aim for 8 but usually get in between 830 and 9. Then I will typically stay until 530 unless Tom is home, then I’ll try and stay until 6. And one day a week I go home kind of early so that I can spend some special quality time with my littlest man. I’m very thankful that I am able to do that.

– Clean water. Not only do we have clean water to drink, we also have clean water to bathe in and do our laundry in.

– Honesty, not everyone is able to be honest all the time, but the times when we are honest is what counts.

– Forgiveness. Its not always an easy thing to do, but when you do it, its the biggest relief you can experience.

– Having a voice, with the election this year, having a voice was all that many people had. I saw many people bash the other side with their voice. I chose to use my voice to vote. Not every country is givin this right.

– My Aunts and Uncles. These people have always been like a second set of parents to me. They were there to whip me into shape when I got in trouble and supported me at all of my dance recitals. Having a strong relationship with an Aunt or an Uncle is kind of a big deal and I’m glad that I have 2 of each that love me as much as they love their own children.

-Being a mommy. I love being a mommy. Its the one thing that I can’t wait to do over and over again. I love knowing that there is a little sweetie that depends on me almost entirely and knowing that I am responsible for who that little one turns into. I love watching all of their firsts and I will love all of their failures and successes too. Watching them grow and being gifted with this opportunity is the best.

– Spending time with friend (in my case, skyping with friends) Since I moved to Texas I’ve been having some issue with adjusting to the area and getting used to being here and without my mom (I know right!) Its been a hard adjustment, but having the ability and resources to skype, chat, facetime and have just plain ol’ phone conversations with my friends and family in Michigan is making the transition a little bit more bearable each day.

– The ability to make my own decisions. A lot of women are not in a place where they can do this. It make me grateful that I am in a place where I can do this. However, it does make me feel kind of bad for my husband because I usually end up making decisions for him too. (LOL)

– Baby Tylenol. With out this magic potion, teething would be so much worse!!

– Long hot baths and Me time. I love being with my family but sometimes I just need a good 15minutes to myself. Just to take a break from work and the family. Its never long because I end up missing my two favorite men.

– Being Organized. I’m so glad that I’m organized and that I learned the importance of this awhile ago. If I wasn’t organized, I think my life would be in shambles because I would never be able to find anything.

– Emergency safety codes. These codes could someday save my life!

– Blogs… Ok, another weird one, I know. But I’m happy that I have wonderful blogs to read that give me ideas, inspiration, and yummy recipes.

– Thanksgiving, Black Friday, Cyber Monday and GIVING Tuesday! I’m glad that someone saw fit that Thanksgiving Holiday should include a day that is about giving. I think that this is something that we all need to remember, every day. I’m sure that there is an organization that you can think of that you could donate to.

